2009 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award Winners


WTOP-FM Washington, DC, with 11 awards, and KARE-TV Minneapolis-St. Paul and WBUR-FM Boston, with 10 each, claimed the most awards as the Radio-Television News Directors Association announced the 2009 regional winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in electronic journalism. In all, RTNDA judges awarded 540 regional Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website. Many of the entries focused on the historic presidential race and the gloomy economy.     

For the first time, video that appeared exclusively online was accepted as an entry.  In another first, all entries for the 2009 Edward R. Murrow Awards were digitally uploaded and judged online.   

Among the radio and television stations recognized with the most awards:

WTOP-FM, Washington (11)
KARE-TV, Minneapolis (10)
WBUR-FM, Boston (10)
KIRO-AM, Seattle (9)
KUSA-TV, Denver (8)
News 12 Connecticut, Norwalk, CT (6)

Regional winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in early June. The national Edward R. Murrow Awards will be presented October 12 at the RTNDA Awards Dinner in New York.

For the complete list of winners, organized by region, click here.