2011 NAB Marconi Radio Award Winners take the crown


The winners were announced 9/15 at the annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show held at the Radio Show in Chicago. The event was hosted by syndicated morning man Elvis Duran from Z100 in New York. The show also featured a performance by Arista Nashville Country artist Ronnie Dunn. In case you missed it, check out our interviews with some of the Legendary Station GM nominees this week.

Established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio.

This year’s NAB Marconi Radio Award recipients:

Legendary Station
WTOP-FM Washington, D.C.
Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year
Ryan Seacrest, Premiere Networks
Major Market Station of the Year
WBEB-FM Philadelphia, PA
Large Market Station of the Year
WCCO-AM Minneapolis, MN
Medium Market Station of the Year
WDEL-AM Wilmington, DE

Small Market Station of the Year
WLEN-FM Adrian, MI

Major Market Personality of the Year
Kevin and Bean, KROQ-FM Los Angeles, CA

Large Market Personality of the Year
Dave Ryan, KDWB-FM Minneapolis, MN

Medium Market Personality of the Year
Van and Bonnie, WHO-AM Des Moines, IA

Small Market Personality of the Year
Dennis Jon Bailey and Diane Douglas, WIKY-FM, Evansville, IN

Spanish Format Personality of the Year
Edgar “Shoboy” Sotelo, KMVK-FM Dallas, TX

Spanish Station of the Year
KLVE-FM Los Angeles, CA

AC Station of the Year
WMGX-FM South Portland, ME

CHR Station of the Year
KPWR-FM Los Angeles, CA

Country Station of the Year
KYGO-FM Denver, CO

Oldies Station of the Year
WOMC-FM Detroit, MI

Religious Station of the Year

Rock Station of the Year
WAPL-FM Green Bay, WI

Sports Station of the Year
WBZ-FM Boston, MA
Urban Station of the Year
WHUR-FM Washington, D.C.

News/Talk Station of the Year
WSB-AM Atlanta, GA