ACA presents top awards at 9th independent show


ACA / American Cable AssociationAt this year’s 9th Independent Show, the American Cable Association honored several ACA members with awards to recognize their critical support for the trade organization and the effort to provide hometown America with the very best in communications products, including voice, video and broadband Internet.

“The people that ACA honors with its highest awards rank among the most dedicated and thoughtful professionals in the entire communications industry, which is saying a lot but it is also absolutely true,” ACA President and CEO Matthew M. Polka said. “ACA, now in its 21st year in operation, wouldn’t be the success story it is if not for their commitment of time and resources to achieving positive public policy outcomes for the independent cable community.”

ACA presented the awards here before hundreds of ACA Members attending the 9th Independent Show, which is an annual cable industry forum organized to address key public policy issues facing the independent cable operator. The event is co-hosted and organized by ACA and the National Cable Television Cooperative (NCTC), a Lenexa, Kansas-based group that buys programming and equipment for U.S. cable operators. Please find more show news on Twitter at #TIS14.

During the Independent Show, ACA’s top honors were presented to the following:

Chairwoman’s Award: Colleen Abdoulah,  ACA Chairwoman (2011-2014); Chairwoman of the Board, WOW! Internet, Cable & Phone.  Award Inscription: “Through Your Leadership, ACA’s Vision Has Become Reality for Independent Cable Today and for Tomorrow. We are Forever Grateful!”

ACA Eagle Award:  Steve Friedman, Chief Operating Officer, Wave Broadband; ACA Board Member (19 years); and past ACA Chairman. Award Inscription: “For Your Commitment, Dedication, Sacrifice And Significance To Independent Cable Businesses Everywhere, We Are Forever Grateful. You Have Made A Difference!”

PAC Leadership Award: Edward Holleran, President and CEO, Atlantic Broadband. This award recognizes Atlantic Broadband for greatly increasing PAC contribution totals and significantly increasing the number of ACA PAC donors in the past year.

PAC Individual Award:  John Gdovin, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer Patriot/Choice/RCN/Grande.  Tom Steel, Vice President Regulatory Affairs,  Patriot/Choice/RCN/Grande. The PAC Individual Award recognizes enthusiasm, dedication and support for the ACA PAC and for creating a culture of knowledge within the company regarding the ACA PAC’s important role and purpose.

Lyn Simpson Grassroots Spirit Award: John Strode, Vice President Of External Affairs, Ritter Communications. The Lyn Simpson Award goes to a company or individual embodying the passion and commitment that Lyn brought to the small operator community in her role as an ACA founding member in the early 1990s. The award underscores the value of commitment, dedication, and sacrifice to the independent cable business.