AP names WJBC-AM Station of the Year


WJBCCumulus’ WJBC-A/FM in Bloomington, IL was named Station of the Year by the Associated Press. The station was honored Saturday at the Illinois Associated Press Broadcast Journalism Excellence Awards, which were held at the Illinois News Broadcasters Association convention in Peoria.

With a seven member news team, including an agribusiness reporter, WJBC produces more local coverage than any other station in Central Illinois. Reporters produce two hourly newscasts between 5 a.m. and 6 p.m. daily.  Reporters also produce a 2-minute hourly newscast between 7 p.m. and 4 a.m. every day. WJBC’s live and local coverage includes breaking news, continuing coverage, trends, implications and community safety. WJBC has previously won Illinois Associated Press awards for Outstanding News Operation, Best Reporter, Best Newscast and Best Spot News. In 2013, WJBC won the National Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence and in 2009 was awarded the National Association of Broadcasters Small Market Station of the Year.

This is the third time WJBC has won AP “Station of the Year” since 1999. The award is given to one radio or television station in the state for its work with the Associated Press for continuing cooperation and contribution.

“We are proud to continue in WJBC’s long tradition of community service,” said WJBC News Director Stephanie Pawlowski. “The Associated Press has been a great resource for WJBC over the years and we are pleased to assist such an amazing organization in any way we can.”

wjbc pic

Featured from left to right:

Bryan Bloodworth-Sports Writer

Adam Studzinski – News Reporter/Anchor

Stephanie Pawlowski-News Director

Eric Stock- News Reporter/Anchor-Sports Director

Zac Dietmeier-News Reporter/Anchor

Dan Westhoff-Operations Manager