ARF names winners for David Ogilvy, Great Mind Awards


The Advertising Research Foundation (ARF) announced winners of the 2011 ARF David Ogilvy Awards for Excellence in Advertising Research and 2011 ARF Great Mind Awards. They were handed out at the ARF’s annual convention, Re:think 2011 – Managing the Complexity Maze: Insights as the Navigator. Twenty-nine campaigns, across 15 business award categories, were honored for best use of research in the David Ogilvy Awards, presented by Sir Martin Sorrell, CEO, WPP Group USA.

Among the night’s honors, Domino’s Pizza walked away with the ARF Grand Ogilvy Award for its “Pizza Turnaround” campaign. The ARF Grand Ogilvy Award is given to the campaign demonstrating the most successful use of research in the creation of superior advertising that achieves a critical business objective. The United States Census Bureau, returning after more than a decade, claimed the Research Achievement Award for its “2010 United States Census” campaign. Kimberly-Clark received the Research Innovation Award for its “Break the Cycle” campaign for its Kotex brand. 

For the 2011 ARF Great Mind Awards, 24 honorees across six award categories were recognized for their contributions to the excellence and advancement of ad research. Awards were co-presented by David Krajicek, co-president, GfK Custom Research North America, and Steve Coffey, CRO, NPD Group and chairman, ARF Board of Directors.

This year’s winners were chosen out of 130 nominees considered to be the most commendable individuals in the advertising research community. Jeanne Vaughn of GlobalHue took home the Grand Innovation Award for “Nations Within a Nation,” the first piece of cultural research addressing issues surrounding U.S. demographic segmentation. Grand Rising Star Award winner, Kelly Johnson of ESPN, was recognized for her work in groundbreaking cross-media research initiatives for the sports cable network and for introducing the first-ever application of the TouchPoints research technology to the U.S. market.

Ed Keller, CEO, Keller Fay Group, received the Grand Member Recognition Award, which goes to individuals who made an outstanding contribution to the ARF in the prior year. Keller, who’s term as member of the ARF Board of Directors ends this year, was honored for his many contributions to the ARF throughout his tenure including, serving as an active member of the ARF Board, the program committees for the Audience Measurement Conference and annual Re:think convention, as well as judge for David Ogilvy Awards.

A new Quality in Research Award was introduced and awarded to companies GMI Interactive and Mintel Market Research, and Ipsos ASI for their effective and successful implementation of questionnaires.

ARF Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Rosi Ware, SVP of Development, Kantar and Dr. Joseph T. Plummer, adjunct professor, Columbia Business School and senior associate, Olson Zaltman Associates for their significant ongoing contributions to the advertising research industry and to the ARF.

See the full list of category award winners for both awards here.