ASCAP set to seat new board


ASCAPThe votes have been cast and tallied, allowing the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers to name the Board of Directors that will guide the licensing organization’s activities beginning 4/1/13. Paul Williams is President and Chairman of the Board.

The new board will bear a striking resemblance to the old board – only one new member has been added.

“Newly elected writer member in the at-large field is composer Alf Clausen. In addition to Paul Williams, the writer members who were re-elected in the at-large field are: songwriter Marilyn Bergman; composer Richard Bellis; composer Bruce Broughton; composer George Duke; composer Dan Foliart; songwriter Wayland Holyfield; songwriter Valerie Simpson; songwriter Jimmy Webb; and composer Doug Wood. Re-elected in the Symphonic and Concert field is composer Stephen Paulus.

“The publisher directors re-elected in the at-large field are: Martin Bandier, Sony/ATV; Caroline Bienstock, Bienstock Publishing; Barry Coburn, Ten Ten Music; John L. Eastman, Edwin H. Morris & Co.; Zach Horowitz, Universal Music; Laurent Hubert, BMG Gold Songs; Dean Kay, Lichelle Music; Leeds Levy, Leeds Music; Matt Pincus, Songs Music Publishing; Irwin Z. Robinson, Cromwell Music; and Cameron Strang, Warner Brothers Music. Re-elected in the Symphonic and Concert field is publisher James Kendrick, Schott Music Corporation/European American Music Corporation.”