Three TV Industry Executives Join ATSC Board


Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) have elected four industry executives to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms that begin in January 2019.

One individual was reelected. The three others are new to the group devoted to the voluntary rollout of the next-gen broadcast TV standard.

Anne Schelle, Managing Director of the Pearl TV broadcaster partnership, was re-elected to the board.

Joining the directors are Jim DeChant, VP/Technology at News-Press & Gazette Broadcasting; Ira Goldstone, Executive Engineer at FOX; and Dave Siegler, VP of Technical Operations at Cox Media Group.

The three TV executives join ATSC as the terms of four board members are set to expire at the end of 2018:

  • Brett Jenkins,  Nexstar Media Group
  • Richard Friedel, FOX
  • Glenn Reitmeier, NBC Universal
  • Wayne Luplow, who represents the IEEE on the board this year.

Friedel’s term as ATSC Board Chairman also expires at year-end. The board will elect its 2019 chairman at its first meeting of the new year.

Current board members whose terms continue in 2019 are Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters; Mark Corl, Triveni Digital; Jon Fairhurst, Samsung;Dr. Paul Hearty, Sony Electronics; Dr. Jong Kim, LG Electronics; Brian Markwalter, Consumer Technology Association; Thomas Bause MasonSociety of Motion Picture & Television Engineers; Andy Scott, NCTA – The Internet and Television Association; and Craig Todd, Dolby.  Additionally, Dr. Yian Wu, Communications Research Centre, has been appointed to the 2019 ATSC board by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

“The ATSC is fortunate to have a talented, experienced and engaged board of directors, which drives our overarching strategy,” said ATSC President Mark Richer. “This is especially critical as the ATSC and its members continue to develop and update standards and support the implementation of Next Gen TV powered by ATSC 3.0.”