ATSC Board Members Elected


Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee Inc. (ATSC) have elected three industry executives to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms that begin in January 2018.

Newly elected directors are Triveni Digital SVP Mark Corl, and Samsung Principal Standards Engineer Jon Fairhurst.

Craig Todd, SVP at Dolby Laboratories, was re-elected to the board.

Current board members whose terms continue in 2018 are the NAB’s Lynn Claudy, FOX’s Richard Friedel, Dr. Paul J. Hearty of Sony Electronics, Nexstar’s Brett Jenkins, Dr. Jong Kim of LG Electronics, SMPTE’s Howard Lukk, Brian Markwalter of the Consumer Technology Association (CTA), NBCUniversal’s Glenn Reitmeier, Pearl TV head Anne Schelle, and Andy Scott of NCTA – The Internet and Television Association.

Additionally, Zenith’s Wayne Luplow has been appointed to the 2018 ATSC board by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

ATSC board members whose terms expire at the end of 2017 include Christopher Homer, who has retired from PBS; David Siegler, of Cox Media Group; and Dr. Yian Wu, of the Communications Research Centre. Yian represented the IEEE on the board this year;  Friedel’s term as 2017 ATSC Board Chairman also expires at year-end. The board will elect its 2018 chairman at its first meeting of the new year.