AWM names 2014 Board


AWM / Alliance for Women In MediaThe Alliance for Women in Media (AWM) has announced its 2014 National Board of Directors. Kay Olin, Principal, Olin & Associates, will continue to serve as the National Chair. The 2014 Board convened 1/24 at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, for its first Board meeting.

“The Alliance for Women in Media has assembled a Board of accomplished women representing all facets of the media industry,” said Olin. “I am excited to work with this talented group of media professionals to promote industry-wide collaboration, education and innovation.”

Serving as Chair‐Elect of AWM is Kristen Welch, Senior Vice President of Global Content and Long Range Strategic Planning, Discovery Communications, Inc., Silver Spring, MD. The Treasurer is Sarah Foss, President, Advertising, Yangaroo, Inc., New York, NY; the Treasurer‐Elect is Carol Grothem, Local Sales Manager, Cumulus/KQRS-FM, Minneapolis, MN and Past Chair is Valerie Blackburn, Market Controller for CBS Radio/General Manager for KFWB Asset Trust in Los Angeles.

The following individuals will serve as Directors at Large: Karla Ballard, West SVP and Director of The Impact Studio, Ogilvy & Mather, Culver City, CA;  Lori Conkling, Executive Vice President, Strategy & Business Development, NBCUniversal, New York, NY; Nancy Giles, Contributor, CBS Broadcasting, Inc., New York, NY; Sandy Girard, Vice President, Brand Management and Development, SiriusXM Radio, New York, NY; Carol Hanley, Consultant, Chicago, IL; Annie Howell, Executive Vice President, Corporate Communications and Media Relations, Crown Media Family Networks, New York, NY; Kimberly Maki, Corporate Vice President & Chief Communications Officer, Bright House Networks, Orlando, FL; Christine Merritt, President, Ohio Association of Broadcasters, Columbus, OH; Deborah Parenti, Executive Vice President of Radio Ink & RBR-TVBR, New York, NY; Roni Selig, Senior Executive Producer/Director, Health, Wellness and Medical Unit, CNN, New York, NY; Keisha Sutton‐James, Vice President, Inner City Broadcasting Corporation, New York, NY; and Christine Travaglini, President, Christal Radio/KRG Partnerships, New York, NY.

“AWM appreciates the dedication and expertise of our Board of Directors,” said AWM Interim CEO Sylvia Strobel. “Their leadership, influence and vision are critical to AWM continuing to advance women working in all forms of media.”