Bayliss Foundation scholarships awarded


The John Bayliss Broadcast Foundation has announced the latest winners of scholarships awarded to college students seeking a career in the radio industry. The foundation has awarded $25,000 in scholarships to five students.

The Bayliss Broadcasters along with the colleges and universities represented are:

Jessica Brandt – Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY
Caitlin Duffy – Seton Hall University, South Orange, NJ
Thurmon Henry – Five Towns College, Dix Hills, NY
Dallas Osborn – San Francisco State University, San Francisco, CA
Marina Zarya – Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY

Since 1985, the board of directors has selected over 345 exceptional students as Bayliss Broadcasters. “These ambitious young people were selected to receive the Bayliss Radio Scholarship because of their academic achievement and extracurricular radio activities, their passion for radio and their desire to contribute to the overall advancement of the radio industry,” said board chairman Gary Fries in announcing the scholarship winners.

He also sent a reminder to broadcasters that “Your tax-deductible gift is a genuine investment in the future of radio.”

Individual and corporate donations helped to make the scholarship awards possible this year, since the foundation did not host the traditional Bayliss Radio Roast in the midst of the recent advertising recession.