Beasley Founder Honored For A Lifetime Of Achievement


NEW YORK — Speaking of the humble roots of her father, Caroline Beasley received a standing ovation from attendees of Radio’s Financial Summit, Forecast 2020⁦, on Wednesday while accepting the Lifetime Leadership Award on behalf of Beasley Broadcast Group founder George Beasley.

Caroline Beasley noted that her father had recently undergone hip surgery and was unable to make the trip from Naples, Fla., to midtown Manhattan to accept the honor personally.

Mr. Beasley founded Beasley Broadcast Group in 1961 and today serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors. He served as CEO through March 18, 2016, and in 2012 was honored by the Library of American Broadcasting as a “Giant of Broadcasting.”

The radio veteran began his career in North Carolina.

Beasley joins a long list of radio executives who have won the award in previous years.

Previous Lifetime Leadership Award recipients include:
Ralph Guild
Lowry Mays
Gary Fries and Eddie Fritts
Gordon Hastings
Bill Burton
Ed McLaughlin
Jerry Lee
Dick Clark, Frances Preston
Jim Thompson
Charles Warfield
Dan Mason
Cathy Hughes
Bruce Reese
Peter Smyth