Beasley hands out 2013 company awards


Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc.Beasley Broadcast Group bestowed Company Operating Awards during its annual management meetings held in Naples, FL. Beasley gathered corporate management and station leadership from the 11 markets in which operates to celebrate achievements and contributions from individual employees and radio stations over the preceding twelve months. The 2013 honorees include:

•           WXTU-FM– Radio Station of the Year /  Philadelphia, PA

•           Tom Humm– General Manager of the Year  / Las Vegas, NV

•           Robin Wood – Business Manager of the Year / Fayetteville, NC

•           Matt Smith – Sales Manager of the Year / WXTU-FM and WRDW-FM, Philadelphia, PA

•           Shelly Easton– Program Director of the Year / WXTU-FM Philadelphia, PA

•           Charlie McCoy – Engineer of the Year / Augusta, GA

•           Sam Floyd– CEO Award of Excellence/ Executive Vice President

Beasley 2013 Awards

Left to right: EVP Sam Floyd (CEO Award of Excellence; GM Mac Edwards (accepting for Robin Wood); President Bruce Beasley; EVP Brian Beasley; GM Natalie Conner (accepting for WXTU; Shelly Easton & Matt Smith); Chairman & CEO George Beasley; EVP/CFO Caroline Beasley; GM Tom Humm (General Manager of the Year); GM Kent Dunn (accepting for Charlie McCoy).

Said Founder, Chairman and CEO George Beasley: “Each year, as we honor our Company’s highest achievers, I’m reminded of the quality of professionalism within Beasley Broadcast Group.  The ladies and gentleman we recognize this year have certainly earned our respect and it is my privilege to acknowledge their accomplishments and congratulate each and every one of them.”

WXTU-FM was selected as Beasley’s “Radio Station of the Year” based on solid overall ratings and revenue as well as commendable community service.

Vice President and Market Manager Tom Humm is this year’s “General Manager of the Year.”  A Las Vegas native, Humm joined Beasley Broadcast in 2008 and has played an essential role in building a strong and vibrant cluster for the Company that now includes KCYE-FM, KDWN-AM, KKLZ-FM, KOAS-FM and KVGS-FM.  This is the second time that he has earned Beasley’s top manager award.

Beasley’s 2013 “Business Manager of the Year” is Robin Wood from the Company’s Fayetteville, NC cluster. In her role as the market’s business manager, Robin handles financial reporting, accounts receivable and payable management, payroll and also human resources responsibilities for six stations and over 65 employees.  She joined the company in 1997 and this is the third time that she has earned accolades as the company’s top business manager.

Matt Smith has been named the “Sales Manager of the Year” for 2013.  Matt is director of sales for both WXTU-FM and WRDW-FM in Philadelphia, a position he has held for four years, and this is the second time he has been named the company’s top sales manager.

Beasley bestows an annual “Program Director of the Year” award to recognize the important task of providing creative and compelling content, branding a station both on-the-air and digitally, overseeing and supporting the on-air personalities, encouraging community service and achieving consistent strong ratings. Shelly Easton, program director of WXTU, has earned this year’s top programming honor for the second straight year.

The winner of this year’s “Engineer of the Year” award is Chief Engineer Charlie McCoy, who skillfully oversees the entire technical infrastructure in Beasley’s Augusta cluster, including radio station studios for 7 FMs and 3 AMs, transmitter sites, and IT responsibilities.

From time to time a “CEO Award of Excellence” is bestowed upon a company official during the annual management seminars, allowing Founder, Chairman and CEO George G. Beasley an opportunity to acknowledge and honor a person whom he feels exemplifies a history of quality service and sincere dedication to the Company. This year’s winner is Executive Vice President Sam Floyd who is based in Fayetteville, NC.