Buffalo Hall of Famers


The Buffalo Broadcasters Association inducted seven veteran broadcasters into its Hall of Fame.

Heading the class of 2010 is WGRZ-TV Sports Director Ed Kilgore, who has been a sports anchor for almost 40 years. He’s been at WGRZ Buffalo since 1973.

He’s joined by “Inside Edition’s” National Correspondent Les Trent, who began his career in buffalo radio and TV.

Hall of Famer William Siemering was the first Program Director for National Public Radio (NPR). Before taking that job in 1970 he had been General Manager of WBFO-FM at the University of Buffalo.

Buffalo News reporter Brian Meyer, who made his broadcasting career at WBEN-AM, was also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The late Frank Benny was an on-air star at WGR-AM Buffalo for 19 years and also served as weatherman at WGR-TV. Oh, and he also hosted “Bowling for Dollars” on the station.

And finally, Mary Brady and Margaret Russ-Guenther were inducted for their roles as behind the scenes administrators at WEBR-AM.