CC unveils winners of $1 million in free advertising


From the O’Toole Awards Ceremony at the Nokia Theatre Times Square in New York City, Clear Channel Communications yesterday unveiled the 4A’s 2009 O’Toole Awards winners of its $1 million in free advertising honor, recognizing the outstanding work being done in advertising creative. Best large, mid-sized and small agency award recipients, receiving $300,000 each, includes BBDO New York, BBH and Barrie D’Rozario Murphy, respectively. Ogilvy & Mather New York won $100,000 for their cause-oriented work in the category of best national public service campaign.

The four winners of the million dollar accolade will benefit from unparalleled, targeted advertising outreach through Clear Channel’s radio, digital and outdoor platforms. Engaging consumers over the airwaves, on the Web and out-of-home, the combined platform targets more than 150 million consumers each day across AM/FM radio broadcasts, online and mobile streams and on-demand audio and video, in-vehicle navigation systems, digital video billboards, taxi media, transit shelters, and other outdoor displays.

“We have entered a bold, exciting moment in advertising and The O’Toole winners stand as essential pillars upholding an aspirational level of excellence,” said John Partilla, executive vice president of Clear Channel Communications and president of Global Media Sales. “The competition between leading agencies was formidable and the victors now have the opportunity to further extend their brands through our multichannel assets.”

“We’re honored by Clear Channel’s generous support and contribution to this year’s O’Toole Awards,” Chuck Porter, Vice Chair, 4A’s Board of Directors and Chairman, Crispin Porter + Bogusky. “The creativity and original thinking demonstrated across each category was simply remarkable and we’re delighted that winners will walk away with the additional honor.”

Established in 1991, the O’Toole is one of the most competitive and highly-regarded award programs in advertising. Its purpose is to recognize those agencies, 4As member and non-member alike, that consistently set and maintain the very highest standards.