Chernock, Laird, Symson Are Honorees


NAB-ShowThree technical experts will be honored at the upcoming NAB Show.

Triveni Digital Chief Science Officer Richard Chernock is the television recipient of this year’s NAB Engineering Achievement Award and Andy Laird, former VP/CTO for Journal Broadcast Group, is the radio recipient.

The Digital Leadership Award will go to Adam Symson, senior vice president and chief digital officer at the E.W. Scripps Company.

The Engineering Achievement Awards are given to individuals who are nominated by their peers for significant contributions to advancing broadcast engineering. In 2015, the Digital Leadership Award was established to honor an individual at a broadcast station, group or network who has had a significant role in transforming a traditional broadcast business to succeed on digital media platforms.

Chernock is being recognized for his industry activities regarding digital television broadcasting and is chairman of the Advanced Television Systems Committee Technology Group on ATSC 3.0. Chernock previously served as chairman of the ATSC Technology Group that oversaw the development of enhancements to the DTV standard, including the ATSC Mobile and ATSC 2.0 suite of standards, the recommended practice on audio loudness and numerous others.

Laird, who retired in 2015, played a crucial role in the evaluation and standardization of the system for digital AM and FM radio broadcasting in the U.S. through his work with the NAB co-sponsored National Radio Systems Committee. Most recently, was the co-chair of the Digital Radio Broadcasting subcommittee.

Symson oversees the strategy and execution across product development, content, revenue and marketing for Scripps’ portfolio of web, mobile and over-the-top businesses. Under his leadership, the company has sustained consistent growth of its digital properties by bolstering sales and content teams, introducing digital apps and other products for local and national markets, launching the nation’s first membership-based service on a local TV station website and furthering national investigative reporting.

All three recipients will be honored at the NAB Technology luncheon on Wednesday, April 20 in Las Vegas.