CMA names radio station/personality winners


The Country Music Association has notified the winners of the CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year and CMA Radio Station of the Year awards. The broadcasters will be recognized during “The 43rd Annual CMA Awards” airing November 11th (8-11 pm ET) on ABC, during which the music winners will be announced, along with lots of live performances.

“It was really cool to get to call those guys and congratulate them,” said Jamey Johnson, an artist who will have to wait until the telecast to find out if his own nomination for a CMA Award produces a win. Johnson walked into the studio of Citadel Media’s “American Country Countdown” to personally deliver the good news to Kix Brooks, who won his first National Broadcast Personality of the Year Award. Others got phone calls from Johnson.

2009 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year Winners:

National – Kix Brooks, American Country Countdown, (Citadel Media).

Major Market – Cornbread, Pat James, Annie Henson, Harry Schroeder, Mac “Captain Mac” Douglas, “The Cornbread Morning Show featuring Cornbread, Pat James, Producer Annie, Father Harry, and Captain Mac,” WIL, St. Louis, MO. (Bonneville International)
This marks the show’s first nomination and win. Cornbread and Pat James also shared a win for Medium Market Broadcast Personality of the Year in 2003 for their work at KFDI in Wichita, KS.

Large Market – Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt, Kevin Freeman, “Jim Denny and Friends,” WFMS, Indianapolis, IN (Cumulus Media). The show was also a winner in 2007 and a nominee in 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2005. Denny and Freeman were also nominated for their work together in 1998.

Medium Market – Jack Ryan, “WIVK at Night with Jack Ryan,” WIVK, Knoxville, TN. (Citadel). After four previous nominations in the category, this marks Ryan’s first win in the category.

Small Market – Gator Harrison, Greg “StyckMan” Owens, “Gator & The StyckMan,” WGSQ, Cookeville, TN. (Cookeville Communications). The show was also a winner in 2007.

2009 CMA Radio Station of the Year Winners:

Major Market – KYGO, Denver/Boulder, CO. KYGO has been a finalist seven times, and including the 2009 win, has won the category three times.

Large Market – WUBE, Cincinnati, OH. After being named a finalist ten times, this will be WUBE’s second CMA Award. The station won Large Market Station of the Year in 1998.

Medium Market – KUZZ, Bakersfield, CA. KUZZ has been named a finalist 13 times and received the Award in 1998 and 2002.

Small Market – WKSF, Asheville, NC. WKSF is a first time nominee and winner.

“The 43rd Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer, Paul Miller is the Director, and David Wild is the writer. The special will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

Premiere Radio Networks is the official radio packager of the CMA Awards. American Airlines is the official airline of the 2009 CMA Awards. Chevy: The Official Ride of Country Music.