CRS count and new CRB officeers


Country Radio Broadcasters (CRB) announced that attendance at CRS 2010 was up 3.5% percent over the 2009 Country Radio Seminar. Also, CRB has elected new officers for the next year.

The CRS 2010 total attendance was 2,181, with 1,576 full registrants (attendees, exhibitors, panelists and sponsors) and 605 participant registrants. Participant registrants represent attendees that register for individual events or single day passes, but not the full three-day seminar. Last year’s CRS 2009 total attendance was 2,106.

“We are extremely pleased that CRS 2010 not only met our expectations, but exceeded them this year in many ways,” said CRB interim Executive Director Bill Mayne.  “The attendance, sponsorship, participation, and enthusiasm were especially heartening.  The level of artist talent was stellar, and the radio agenda panels were thought provoking and relevant.  We were encouraged to see the Country Radio industry really get behind this year’s seminar, and our attendance figures show that.  Every participant had the opportunity to walk away with valuable resources, relationships and ideas, and we look forward to continuing to improve the CRS experience as we move forward with this event for many more years to come,” he added.

Several changes to the CRS agenda committee and CRB board of directors have been announced, including the creation of an additional CRS Co-Vice Chair position.

The newly elected CRB board officers and CRS agenda committee members are as follows:

CRB President: Mike Culotta (WQYK, Tampa)
CRB Vice President: R.J. Curtis (Arista Nashville, Nashville)
CRB Secretary: Carole Bowen (WKIS, Miami)
CRB Treasurer: Jeff Walker (The AristoMedia Group, Nashville)
CRS 2011 Agenda Chair: John Paul (Dial Global, Denver)
CRS 2011 Co-Vice Chair: Clint Marsh (Talking Stick Communications, Warsaw, IN)
CRB 2011 Co-Vice Chair: Annie Sandor (Curb Records, Nashville)

“We feel it’s important to emphasize the sales side of Country radio at CRS 2011, so we have added another Vice Chair position to our agenda committee,” says Agenda Chair John Paul.  “With the addition of Clint Marsh, we now have a Vice Chair who comes from the General Manager side of things, while the other Vice Chair, Annie Sandor, comes from the label/promotion side.  With my experience in programming, we have nearly every angle of our business covered as we begin planning CRS 2011,” he explained.

The newly elected CRB board members are Jim Asker (All Access, Nashville) and Charlie Morgan (Emmis Communications, Indianapolis).  Both will serve three-year terms on the CRB board, along with re-elected members Becky Brenner, Joel Burke, Mike Dungan, Renee Leymon, Mike McVay, Joel Raab and John Zarling.

Continuing their terms on the CRB board are: Tom Baldrica, Carole Bowen, Natalie Conner, John Crenshaw, Mike Culotta, R.J. Curtis, David Haley, Clay Hunnicutt, Keith Kaufman, Scott Lindy, Bill Macky, Michael Osterhout, Royce Risser, Denise Roberts, Tim Roberts, John Shomby, Jeff Walker and Rusty Walker.

“Wow!  What a vivacious, energetic Country Radio Seminar we had this year!  I think it proves that when we work together as an industry, even during these challenging times, there’s nothing this event can’t accomplish,” said newly elected President Mike Culotta.

CRS 2011 will be held March 2-4, 2011, at the Nashville Convention Center in Nashville.