Democrats shoo Eshoo into Communications Subcom lead


The next ranking member of the key Subcommittee on Communications, Technology and the Internet will be Anna Eshoo (D-CA), whose most recent communications trophy is the signing of the CALM Act into law, which will lower the volume on television commercials. She will serve opposite subcommittee Chair Greg Walden (R-OR).

The subcommittee is part of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, chaired by Fred Upton (R-MI), with Henry Waxman (D-CA) serving as ranking member.

“I’m grateful to my colleagues for giving me the honor to lead the Subcommittee on Communications and Technology,” said Rep. Eshoo. “My Congressional District, home to Silicon Valley, is the innovation center of the world, and the policies we shape can advance America’s competitiveness and job growth.”

Eshoo’s chief rival for the position was Bobby Rush (D-IL), who was named ranking member of the Subcommittee on Energy and Power.

In a release, Eshoo said her priorities will include “…expanding high-speed, affordable broadband, protecting electronic privacy, freeing up more spectrum and transitioning our nation’s 9-1-1 system to a next generation, IP-based network.” Eshoo also said that she “has been a strong champion of preserving an open Internet.”

FCC Commissioner Michael Copps welcomed Eshoo to the post, saying, “I wish to congratulate Representative Anna Eshoo (D-CA) on the selection by her colleagues to serve as ranking member of the Communications and Technology Subcommittee. Having had the opportunity to work with her for numerous years covering the whole gamut of media and telecommunications issues, I know of her singular and heartfelt commitment to the public interest. Citizens and consumers come first for her. She has a very special vision of what an open and dynamic communications sector means to the United States and how important it is to our civic dialogue. I look forward to working with her on the broad range of telecommunications and media challenges confronting the country at this time.”

Here is the new makeup of the Democratic wing of the subcommittee announced by Waxman:

Subcommittee on Communications and Technology

Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA) Ranking Member

Edward J. Markey (D-MA)

Michael F. Doyle (D-PA)

Doris O. Matsui (D-CA)

Jane Harman (D-CA)

John Barrow (D-GA)

Edolphus Towns (D-NY)

Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ)

Bobby L. Rush (D-IL)

Diana DeGette (D-CO)

John D. Dingell (D-MI) (Ex Officio – non voting)

Henry A. Waxman (D-CA) (Ex Officio)