DOJ Decision Supported by 6 House Members


DOJ / Department of JusticeSix members of Congress have written the Attorney General supporting the Justice Department’s decision not to make any changes to the antitrust consent decrees governing ASCAP and BMI. The lawmakers called the decision “appropriate.”

“Further, we support the Department’s clarification that under the decrees, ASCAP and BMI must use ‘100% licensing,’ and that this obligation has always been inherent in the consent decrees.

So-called fractional licensing, which the ASCAP and BMI sought for works written by more than one person, “would hamstring the marketplace,” wrote the lawmakers.

The 6 House members included: Reps. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Blake Farenthold (R-TX), Gene Green (D-TX), Dave Trott (R-MI) and Jared Polis (D-CO.)