DuMont steps down as NRHOF Steering Comm. Chair


Bruce DuMontAt last week’s board meeting of the Museum of Broadcast Communications Bruce DuMont stepped down as Chairman of the National Radio Hall of Fame Steering Committee:

“I appointed new MBC Board member Kraig T. Kitchin to replace me as Chairman —naming MBC Board members Dennis Green and Karole White as Vice Chairs of the Committee.  As you know Kraig, Dennis and Karole have all been long- time members of the NRHOFSC.

This important move comes in the wake of our recent announcement concerning  the November 9th NRHOF induction ceremony taking place in Los Angeles. It underscores the truly national scope of the NRHOF and will extend our reputation more broadly and hopefully our base of support as well.

You have all played an important role in preparing for this moment. Together we have been in the trenches each year, taking slings and arrows from time to time, but maintaining our solidarity and confidential discussions. We made tough choices and we did so fairly—and without malice. I am very proud of what we all have done as a team for the past 20 years.

I will remain an Ex officio member of the Committee—and can now actually vote. I look forward to participating in future deliberations.

But it is time for new leadership of the Committee and I trust Kraig will take the NRHOF to a higher place — with your continued participation and support.

Let us continue to be Radio Proud.”

Bruce DuMont

Founder/President & CEO

Museum of Broadcast Communications

DuMont is also the host of Beyond the Beltway talk radio, a show that airs on over 30 stations around the US. DuMont is the nephew of Allen B. DuMont, founder of the DuMont Television Network – the first commercial television network.