FCC names new diversity panel


A lot of familiar names will be sitting down together and working on the challenge of increasing the level of diversity among the nation’s communications industries. The FCC Diversity Committee has been rechartered, its panel members have been named, and its first meeting is on the calendar for 12/6/11.

According to the FCC, the Committee will “…advise the Commission regarding policies and practices that will enhance diversity in the telecommunications and related industries.  In particular, the Committee will focus on lowering barriers to entry for historically disadvantaged men and women, exploring ways to ensure universal access to and adoption of broadband and creating an environment that enables employment of a diverse workforce within the telecommunications and related industries.”

FCC will have three of its own on hand: Barbara Kreisman, Carolyn Fleming Williams, and Nicole McGinnis, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer and Deputy Federal Officers, respectively, of the Diversity Committee.

Here is the rest of the Committee roster:
* Henry Rivera, Emma Bowen Foundation for Minority Interests in Media
* Joaquin Alvarado, American Public Media
* Philip Alvelda, MobiTV
* Karla Ballard, One Economy
* William Branham, 21st Century Telecom
* Maria Brennan, Women in Cable Telecommunications
* Rudy Brioche, Comcast-NBC
* Eric Broyles, Megree
* Bridgette Daniel, Wilco Electronic Systems, Inc.
* Erin Dozier, National Association of Broadcasters
* Donna Epps, Verizon
* Derrick Frost, Invision TV
* Anita Stephens Graham, Opportunity Capital Partners
* Jessica Gonzales, The National Hispanic Media Coalition
* Anton Guitano, CBS
* Chanelle Hardy, National Urban League
* Charles Harrell, The IT Architect
* David Honig, Minority Media Telecommunications Council
* Maxie Jackson, National Federation of Community Broadcasters
* Ron Johnson, Solutions4Change
* Sherman Kizart, Kizart Media Partners
* Faye Kuo, Communication Services for the Deaf
* Nicol Turner-Lee, Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
* Jose Marquez, Latinos in Science and Technology Association
* Robert Mendez, Disney
* Karen Narasaki, Asian American Justice Center
* Celia Nogales, AT&T
* Javier Palomarez, United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
* Susan Patrick, Patrick Communications
* Tony Perez, National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors
* Steve Roberts, The Roberts Companies
* Andy Schwartzman, Media Access Project
* Diane Sutter, Shooting Star Broadcasting
* Sylvia Strobel, Alliance for Women in Media
* Dr. Jorge Schement, Rutgers University
* Virgil Smith, Gannett Co.
* Dr. Cindy Shao, Asian American Chamber of Commerce
* Loris Ann Taylor, Native Public Media
* Walter Ulloa, Entravision
* Mark Wallace, Cipher Communications
* Jim Winston, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters
* Coriell Wright, Free Press