Five Murrows for NBC News and CBS News Radio


NBC News earned five Murrow awards, including the award for Overall Excellence, as the Radio-Television News Directors Association has announced the 2009 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners. CBS News Radio was another big winner, also with five Murrow Awards, including the award for Overall Excellence in network radio.

In all, 51 news organizations are being honored with 79 awards.
To earn an Overall Excellence award, a station or network must consistently demonstrate depth and scope in its coverage. Overall Excellence award winners this year are:

NBC News (network television)
CBS Radio News (network radio)
KIRO-TV, Seattle (television, large market)
KCCI-TV, Des Moines, IA (television, small market)
WTOP-FM, Washington, DC (radio, large market)
WJBC-AM, Bloomington, IL (radio, small market)

Awards for investigative reporting went to five news organizations whose work resulted in local and national policy changes. Three St. Louis area stations earned Murrow Awards. Nickelodeon won its first ever Murrow Award for Network News Documentary.

News coverage of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan and their impact at home was the subject of several entries and garnered Murrows in a variety of categories. The Murrow for sports reporting went to ESPN for its story of how a soldier’s love of soccer created a lasting legacy. NBC News coverage of US forces at the front in Afghanistan was honored for continuing coverage. 

Click here to see the entire list of winners on the RTNDA website.

The awards will be presented at the RTNDA Awards Dinner on October 12, 2009, in New York.