GOP names names at key committees


Far and away, the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, and in particular, is Subcommittee on Communications, Technology and the Internet, hold the greatest sway on broadcast legislative matters. Coming in a strong second is the House Judiciary Committee. The GOP has named names in both venues.

Although most communications legislation is referred to Commerce, some issues belong to both Commerce and Judiciary, and copyright matters are pure Judiciary – it’s where the infamous Performance Rights Act originated.

Lamar Smith (R-TX) has taken over the chair from PRA sponsor John Conyers (D-MI), and he recently released his list of subcommittee chairs.

The key junior panel is the Subcommittee on Intellectual Property, Competition, and the Internet, and the new leaders include Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) and Vice-Chairman Howard Coble (R-NC).

Mike Pence (R-IN) has broadcast experience behind the mic, but will be serving as Vice-Chairman on the Subcommittee on the Constitution, chaired by Trent Franks (R-AZ).

There are quite a few familiar names on the Communications Subcommittee. Of course, the leadership was named some time ago, with broadcast champion Greg Walden (R-OR) serving in the Chair and with Lee Terry (R-NE) serving as his second.

The other members include:

Cliff Stearns (R-FL)

John Shimkus (R-IL)

Mary Bono Mack (R-CA)

Mike Rogers (R-MI)

Brian Bilbray (R-CA)

Charlie Bass (R-NH)

Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Phil Gingrey (R-GA)

Steve Scalise (R-LA)

Bob Latta (R-OH)

Brett Guthrie (R-KY)

Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)

Joe Barton (R-TX)

Fred Upton (R-MI)

Pictured: Lamar Smith (R-TX)