Gray announces new executive structure


Gray TelevisionIn the wake of the departure of President/COO Robert Prather, Gray Television has readjusted its executive responsibilities. The company will move forward under the leadership of President /CEO Hilton Howell.

In all, seven individuals will be on the leadership team and reporting to Howell. Meanwhile, the COO position will be eliminated.

Howell stated, “With the changes announced today, I am confident that Gray Television’s incredibly talented individuals at every level of the company will have the leadership and support needed to meet the challenges of the future.”

Here’s the lineup:

* Nick Waller moves from RVP for Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi and North Carolina, to Senior Vice President of the Mid-Atlantic and South regions. In addition to the operating states already under his supervision he will add Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee.

* Bob Smith moves from RVP for Wisconsin, Illinois, Colorado, and Nevada to SVP of the Midwest and West regions, adding operations in Nebraska, Kansas, and Texas.

* Jason Effinger moves from RVP for Texas and portions of the Midwest, will become the SVP for Media and Technology, overseeing the technical and digital aspects of the company.

* Jim Ryan, SVP of Finance and Chief Financial Officer, will continue in this role.

* Kevin Latek, our General Counsel, will become SVP of Business Affairs, adding corporate communications and network and MVPD relationship duties to his legal responsibilities.

Gray noted two other changes to the exec lineup:

* Charlie Effinger moves from RVP for portions of the Midwest to VP of Corporate Development.  He’ll be in charge of program acquisition and relations with networks and yndicators.

* Lisa Guill, who has coordinated local production resources, capital projects, technology implementation, and workflow improvements, moves to VP of Production.