House video hearing books witnesses


Four major communications associations will be present at the House Subcommittee on Communications, Technology and the Internet session on “H.R. 3101, the Twenty-First Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act of 2009.” And it will probably not come as a major disappointment to the NAB that it is not one of them.

The bill, from former subcommittee chair Ed Markey (D-MA), is designed to make sure the visually and aurally disabled are not left behind as video technology continues its rapid evolution.

NCTA, CTIA, CEA and USTA will all be represented by high-ranking executives at the session, which is on the calendar for Thursday 6/10/10 at 10AM.

Here is the full witness list:

* Sergeant Major Jesse R. Acosta, United States Army (Retired), American Council of the Blind

* James Assey, Executive Vice President, National Cable and Telecommunications Association

* Bobby Franklin, Executive Vice President, CTIA – The Wireless Association

* Lise Hamlin, Director of Public Policy, Hearing Loss Association of America

* Walter McCormick, President and Chief Executive Officer, United States Telecom Association

* Gary Shapiro, President and Chief Executive Officer, Consumer Electronics Association