Karpowicz in chair as BMI reboots


Paul KarpowiczThe new chairman of music rights organization Broadcast Music Inc. is Meredith Local Media Group President Paul Karpowcz. He replaced Sheridan’s Susan Davenport.

Meredith has a dozen television stations and is also known for its strong portfolio of household and family oriented magazines.

When it comes to serving the industry, Karpowicz has a lengthy resume, which includes stints with the NAB, CBS Affiliates Board and TVBA.

From BMI, here are other changes to the BMI board:

Newly elected to the Board were Caroline Beasley, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer and Secretary of the Naples, Florida-based Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc. and William S. Hoffman, President of Cox Media Group, the integrated broadcasting, publishing and digital media subsidiary of Cox Enterprises, Inc., based in Atlanta, Georgia. In addition to her responsibilities at Beasley Broadcast Group, Ms. Beasley has served as a past Chairman of the NAB Radio Board. In addition to his responsibilities at Cox, Mr. Hoffman serves on the NAB TV Board, on the Board of the Broadcasters Foundation of America, the ABC Board of Governors, where he was a former Chairman, and on the Board of the Associated Press.

Re-elected as members of the Board were Michael Fiorile, President and CEO of The Dispatch Printing Company, and Vice Chairman and CEO of Dispatch Broadcast Group, Columbus, OH; Catherine L. Hughes, the Founder and Chairperson of Radio One, Inc., Silver Spring, MD; and Jerome L. Kersting, Cincinnati, Ohio. All will serve terms that will expire in 2018.

Continuing in their terms on the Board of Directors are: Michael O’Neill, President and CEO, BMI, New York, NY; Amador Bustos, President and CEO, Bustos Media Holdings, LLC, Portland, OR; Albert Cheng, EVP and Chief Product Officer, Digital Media, Disney/ABC Television Group, Burbank, CA; Craig A. Dubow, Great Falls, VA; Philip A. Jones, Mission Hills, KS; Dave Lougee, President, Gannett Broadcasting, McLean, VA; Virginia Hubbard Morris, Vice President, Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc. and Chair and CEO, Hubbard Radio, LLC, St. Paul, MN; Steven W. Newberry, President and CEO of Commonwealth Broadcasting Corporation, Glasgow, KY; Mark Pedowitz, President, The CW Network, Burbank CA; Jack Sander, Scottsdale AZ; and G. Neil Smith, President, GNS Media, LLC, Liberty, SC.

Honorary Directors are N. John Douglas, Chairman and CEO, AIM Broadcasting, LLC, Palo Alto, CA; and Ken J. Elkins, St. Louis, MO.