Key performer plugs airplay


The age old symbiotic relationship between recording companies and radio stations also received a plug from from Grammy-winner Alicia Keys, who used her acceptance speech to thank "every DJ, every radio guy…" (among others) who helped her along the path to success as a musician.

Meanwhile, NAB reports that another group of lawmakers have signed on to the bipartisan Local Radio Freedom Act being championed in the House of Representatives by Gene Green (D-TX) and Mike Conaway (R-TX). The bill would head off attempts to impose performance royalties on broadcasters in recognition of the promotional value of free airplay of recorded music.

The newcomers, who bring the total number of backers to 148, include Charles Rangel (D-NY), Barbara Cubin (R-WY), Ginny Brown-Waite (R-FL), John Linder (R-GA), Spencer Bachus (R-AL), Jon C. Porter (R-NV), Greg Walden (R-OR), Rodney Alexander (R-LA), Zach Wamp (R-TN), Thelma D. Drake (R-VA), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Roscoe G. Bartlett (R-MD), Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ), Marilyn N. Musgrave (R-CO), Silvestre Reyes (D-TX), Gary G. Miller (R-CA), Tim Holden (D-PA), Frank D. Lucas (R-OK), Jim Gerlach (R-PA), Jim Matheson (D-UT), Thaddeus G. McCotter (R-MI) and Devin Nunes (R-CA).