LRFA continues to build support


U.S. CongressEight more members of the US Congress, including seven from the House of Representatives and one from the Senate, have signed on as co-sponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act, which signals opposition to the imposition of royalties for airplay on the radio.

The bill now has 166 signatures in the house and 12 in the Senate.

The language of the bill stats opposition to “‚Ķany new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” levied on local radio.

“NAB is delighted by the growing bipartisan support for hometown radio stations on an issue of critical importance to the American economy,” said NAB Executive Vice President of Communications Dennis Wharton. “Going forward, we’re hopeful that more members of Congress will sign this resolution in support of local radio.”

Here are the latest members of Congress to get behind the bill:

Tom Udall (D-NM)

Steve Daines (MT-AL)
Sean Duffy (WI-7)
Tim Griffin (AR-2)
Ann Kuster (NH-2)
Mike McIntyre (NC-7)
Martha Roby (AL-2)
Tim Walz (MN-1).