LRFA gains sponsors


US CongressThe Local Radio Freedom Act would preserve the current quid pro quo that has existed between the radio and recording industries for decades – by opposing the imposition on a fee for airplay, it recognizes that airplay has value in and of itself. Seven more members of the House have become co-sponsors.

The main thrust of the measure is this: “Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings.”

Signing on are:
Andy Barr (R-KY)
John Campbell (R-CA)
Paul Cook (R-CA)
Luke Messmer (R-IN)
Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Scott Tipton (R-CO)
Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)

The latest additions brings the total number of House co-sponsors to 159. There are also 11 members of the Senate on board with LRFA.