LRFA picks up 13 more co-sponsors


U.S. CongressA growing group of federal legislators are signing on to the Local Radio Freedom Act, a bipartisan measure designed to head off an AM-FM performance royalty before it ever gets started.

The latest additions to sign on bring the total to 152 members of the House of Representatives and 11 members of the Senate.

The Act, introduced by Mike Conaway (R-TX) and Gene Green (D-TX), states, “Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings,” reads the Local Radio Freedom Act.

Here are the newest signatories to the Act:
Robert Andrews (NJ-1)
Spencer Bauchus (AL-6)
Mo Brooks (AL-5)
Vern Buchanan (FL-16)
Tom Cotton (AR-4)
Rick Crawford (AL-1)
Duncan Hunter (CA-50)
James Lankford (OK-5)
Frank Lucas (OK-3)
Ben Ray Lujan (NM-3)
Dan Maffei (NY-24)
Candice Miller (MI-10)
Matt Salmon (AZ-5)