LRFA picks up support on Capitol Hill


The Local Radio Freedom Act, which members of Congress support to express their opposition to the imposition of a performance royalty on AM and FM radio, has picked up seven more legislators, one in the Senate and six in the House.

To recap, the bill includes the following language: “Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings.”

In the Senate, John Boozman (R-AR) has joined the ranks of supporters, bring the total in that body to 10.

The addition of Jim Bridenstine (OK-1), Christoper Gibson (NY-19), Jim Jordan (OH-11), Mark Meadows (NC-11), Mick Mulvaney (SC-5), Tom Reed (NY-23) brings the total in the House to 124.