MAB names 2013 Broadcast Excellence Award recipients


MABThe Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB) and MAB Foundation announce the recipients of 2013 Broadcast Excellence Awards (BEA) Station of the Year Awards.  The awards are based on the cumulative number of points scored during the BEA competition and is given to the station with the most points in each radio and television market. The awards were presented during the annual Broadcast Excellence Awards Program on 3/12 at The Lansing Center in downtown Lansing.

View More:

Pictured (L-R): Mike Murri, WXYZ-TV (Detroit); Rob Davidek, WWJ-AM (Detroit);

Rebecca Sapakie, WOOD-TV (Grand Rapids); Greg Ghering, WOOD-AM/FM (Grand Rapids); Kevin Dunaway, WWTV/WWUP-TV (Cadillac/Traverse City);

Greg O’Connor, WKHM-AM (Jackson); Scott Zerbel, WLUC-TV (Marquette);

Betsy Cooke, WYKX-FM (Escanaba); Gary Reid, WKAR-TV (East Lansing);

Thom Paulson, WICA-FM (Interlochen); and Steve Schram, Michigan Radio (WUOM/WFUM/WVGR-FM) (Ann Arbor)

The following stations are the recipients of the 2013 Station of the Year awards:

Commercial Divisions

Commercial Radio Market 1                                  Commercial Television Market 1

WWJ-AM, Detroit                                                     WXYZ-TV, Detroit


Commercial Radio Market 2                                  Commercial Television Market 2

WOOD-AM/FM, Grand Rapids                                  WOOD-TV, Grand Rapids


Commercial Radio Market 3                                  Commercial Television Market 3

WKHM-AM, Jackson                                                WWTV/WWUP-TV, Cadillac/Traverse City


Commercial Radio Market 4                                  Commercial Television Market 4

WYKX-FM, Escanaba                                              WLUC-TV, Marquette

Public Divisions

Public Radio Group 1                                            Public Radio Group 2

WICA-FM, Interlochen                                           Michigan Radio, Ann Arbor


Public Television

WKAR-TV, East Lansing