Nominees Revealed For Hispanic Radio’s Top Awards


The Hispanic Radio Conference is proud to announce the 2020 Medallas de Cortez finalists. While only eight will carry home the prestigious plaque, all of the following professionals have proven themselves to be the best of the best in Hispanic radio.

The awards will be presented at the conference on March 25 at the Intercontinental Doral Miami and are sponsored by vcreative.

The Medallas de Cortez awards are named in honor of Raoul Cortez, founder of the first Spanish-language radio station, KCOR in San Antonio, in 1946. His passion, dedication and visionary nature are the stuff of which not only dreams are made but serve to inspire to carry forward those dreams and continue to make Hispanic radio a compelling force in media and the communities it serves.

Register now before the price increases to attend the conference and the presentation of these coveted awards.


Nominated for Broadcaster of the Year are:

Norberto Sanchez
Norsan Media

Alfredo Plascencia
Lazer Broadcasting

Tomas and Mercedes Martinez
Solmart Media, Sarasota-Bradenton, FL

Alfa Lopez
WHOL-FM, Allentown-Bethlehem/Reading, PA

Jesus Lara

Otto Padron
Meruelo Media


Go here to see this year’s list of finalists.