Media Tech and Innovation Scholarships Fly From PILOT


PILOT, an innovation initiative of the National Association of Broadcasters, has announced the winners of its first media technology and innovation scholarships. The awards, valued at $5,000 each, will be presented to nine undergraduate and graduate students, for pursuit of studies related to broadcast engineering, media technology and innovation. The scholarships are administered in partnership with the Broadcast Education Association (BEA).

The winners (and the schools to which they plan to apply their scholarships) are as follows:

  • Rebecca Berth– Minnesota State University Moorhead
  • Kelsey Bruce – University of Alabama
  • Seena Greiwe – Ball State University
  • Fiona Jackline Kemigisa – New York University
  • Louvins Pierre – University of Connecticut
  • Mario Rios – New York University
  • Emily Rosato – Ithaca College
  • Tonia Vu – University of Texas at Arlington
  • Randy Woods – Florida State University

Eligible academic areas for scholarship applicants included broadcast television or radio engineering and technology, broadcast content creation including sports and news production, web and online media, mobile media, media-related information technology (IT), multi-platform audience measurement and media technology research.

NAB Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer Sam Matheny said, “We were thrilled at the quantity and quality of responses to this first offering of scholarships by PILOT, and we’re very happy to present these funds to assist the identified students in pursuit of their careers on the technical side of the broadcast and media arts. It is also a great advantage to work with BEA on this program, given their long-established connections with broadcast education in the academic world.”

BEA Executive Director Heather Birks added, “PILOT continues to be extraordinarily dedicated to cultivating the future of the broadcast industry. It’s an honor to partner with them to recognize and reward the innovative futures of these nine students.”

For additional information, visit