MIW’s 2019 Trailblazer: Christine Travaglini


The Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio Group (MIW Group) has selected the President of Katz Radio Group as the 2019 recipient of the MIW Group Frances Preston Trailblazer Award.

The MIW Group Trailblazer Award is presented annually to a woman who, through her leadership and success in the industry, creates opportunities for other women in radio to further their careers.

In 2012, it was renamed the “Frances Preston Trailblazer Award” in honor of Frances Preston, longtime president and CEO of Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI).

This year’s award will be presented to Christine Travaglini on Sept. 25, during the “You’re Not Just in the Radio Business Anymore: Stories from Innovators Who’ve Made the Transformation” session at the Radio Show, produced by the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) and the Radio Advertising Bureau (RAB).

At Katz Radio Group, Travaglini drives overall business development and strategy of Katz Radio Group’s 14 regional offices that together serve as the national sales partner to more than 3,300 radio stations and their digital audio platforms.

In 2013, she was also named President of Katz Partnerships, the business development team focused on deepening relationships with agencies, and leveraging all of Katz partner’s broadcast and digital assets.

She was honored this year by Radio Ink magazine as one of the “Top 40 Most Powerful People in Radio” and “Top 20 Leaders in Radio.”  Radio Ink has also named her one of the “Most Influential Women in Radio” since 2005.

“I’m incredibly honored and humbled to receive this award, and join the ranks of all the inspiring women on the MIW Trailblazer list,” Travaglini said.  “Advocating personal and professional growth for women in our industry is a passion of mine.  I admire the tremendous work that the MIW Group does to support and mentor women in media, to help them achieve their goals.”

When Christine Travaglini receives the MIW’s 11th annual Trailblazer Award at the 2019 Radio Show, she will join an illustrious group of media professionals, respected for their leadership and commitment to the radio industry. Prior honorees include: Julie Talbott (2018); Mary Quass (2017); Beth Neuhoff (2016); Kim Guthrie (2015); Diane Sutter (2014); Weezie Kramer (2013); Caroline Beasley (2012); Ginny Hubbard Morris (2011);  Lynn Anderson (2010); and Erica Farber (2009).