MMTC sets its schedule


The annual Minority Media and Telecommunications Council is getting ready for its Fifth Annual Access to Capital and Telecom Policy Conference. It'll be at Washington DC's Westin Grand Hotel 7/16-17/07 and will feature an all-star cast of broadcast heavy-hitters, including three sitting FCC commissioners and the heads of the NAB and NCTA.

Topics of discussion will include sessions on valuing properties, finding equity and debt, lifting barriers to minority media ownership, developing a business plan, how to do due diligence, how to close a deal, and forums on entrepreneurship, the DTV transition, competition and diversity and financial, transactional and contractual matters. And on the first night, the group will hold its Tenth Annual Hall of Fame Reception. Registrations are being accepted at

Hon. Jonathan Adelstein, Commissioner, FCC
Hon. Robert McDowell, Commissioner, FCC
Hon. Deborah Taylor Tate, Commissioner, FCC
Kirkland Dudley, Chairman and CEO, GVC Networks LLC
David Goodfriend, VP, Law & Public Policy, Echostar Satellite LLC
C. Lincoln Hoewing, Assistant VP, Internet & Technology Issues, Verizon
Douglas Lowenstein, President, Private Equity Council
Hon. Larry Irving, Chief Strategist, Privacy Council, Inc.
Kyle McSlarrow, President, National Cable and Telecommunications Association
John Muleta, President, M2Z Networks
David Rehr, President, National Association of Broadcasters
Andrew Jay Schwartzman, President, Media Access Project
Gary Shapiro, President, Consumer Electronics Association
Hon. Gloria Tristani, Of Counsel, Spiegel & McDiarmid
Joseph Waz, Vice President, External Affairs & Public Policy Counsel, Comcast
Hon. Richard Wiley, Partner, Wiley Rein LLP

John Brooks, Wells Fargo Foothill
Antoinette Cook Bush, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
Bishop Cheen, Wachovia Securities
Eddie Esserman, Media Services Group
Ari Fitzgerald, Hogan & Hartson; Secretary, MMTC
Todd Fowler, American Media Services
Mark Fratrik, BIA Financial Network
Anita Stephens Graham, Opportunity Capital Partners
Jay Guyther, Arbitron
Joel Hartstone, StoneGate Capital Group
Joycelyn James, John W. Jones Fellow, MMTC
Divakar Kamath, Pacesetter Capital
Erwin Krasnow, Garvey Schubert & Barer; Vice Chair, MMTC
Deborah Lathen, Lathen Consulting; Vice Chair, MMTC
David Meier, Gladstone Capital
Frank Montero, Fletcher Heald & Hildreth
Peter Ottmar, Dover Capital Partners
Hon. Henry M. Rivera, Wiley Rein LLP; Chair, MMTC
Julian Shepard, Williams Mullen
Josephine Stedman, 2006 Honors Intern, MMTC
Joy Tate, Earle K. Moore Fellow, MMTC
Tony Thomas, SYNCOM Management Company
Linda Vilardo, Radio One
Mitsy Wilson, News Corp.

Distinguished Pro Bono Achievement Award: Zuckerman Spaeder L.L.P.
Excellence in Financial Services Award: Wells Fargo Foothill
Extraordinary Service Award: Kiri Davis, Filmmaker ("A Girl Like Me")
Everett C. Parker Lifetime Achievement Award: Phylis Eagle-Oldson

Amador Bustos
Paula Madison
Nancy Victory