Murrow Award Recipients Revealed By RTDNA


Edward R. Murrow himself would be proud.

CBS Radio News and CBS News’ television division have received the 2017 Edward R. Murrow Award for overall excellence at the network level.

CBS’s radio team also won in the network newscast category and in breaking news. CBS’s television team won in newscast, continuing coverage, writing and investigative reporting.

Those are just some of the highlights of the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA)‘s 2017 winners, announced Tuesday (6/20) by the organization.

The annual Edward R. Murrow Awards, named after the famed CBS News head and legendary journalist, recognize outstanding work produced by radio, television and digital news organizations around the world.

“Now more than ever, it is important to recognize the outstanding journalism being done by newsrooms across the country and around the world,” said RTDNA Chairman Vincent Duffy. “We’re proud to highlight the great work of dedicated, hard-working, professional journalists who serve a critical role in our society.”

This 46th annual awards sees the RTDNA present 117 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 15 categories including excellence in innovation, breaking news, investigative reporting and more. RTDNA received nearly 4,300 entries during the 2017 awards season.

In the network radio division, NPR tied CBS with three awards, including excellence in innovation, feature reporting and continuing coverage.

In network television, CNN matched CBS with five awards, including breaking news, hard news, news series, excellence in social media and excellence in video.

In large market radio, WNYC — New York City’s NPR member station — and Hubbard Radio’s all-News WTOP in Washington, D.C., each took home two awards. WNYC won for excellence in innovation and hard news; WTOP won for website and overall excellence.

In small market radio, New Hampshire Public Radio earned three awards for feature reporting, news series and overall excellence.

In large market television, NBC’s Dallas-market KXAS-5 was the top local winner with four awards, including breaking news, excellence in sound, investigative reporting and overall excellence.

Hearst Television‘s CBS-affiliated KCCI-8 in Des Moines, Iowa, won three awards in small market television, for continuing coverage, writing and hard news.

Raycom Media NBC affiliate WWBT-12 in Richmond, Va., won for overall excellence.

To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic journalism.

The winners will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York on Oct. 9. Tickets will go on sale next month.

A complete list of winners with links to the winning entries for the 2017 National Edward R. Murrow Awards can be found at

Details about the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala, including trophy, ticket and sponsorship information are available at