NAB Thanks LFRA Supporters, Ever-Growing In Congress


More than 166 bipartisan members of Congress support the Local Radio Freedom Act.

In recognition of this support, the NAB applauded their efforts by placing a full-page ad in one of Capitol Hill’s more widely read dailies.

The NAB is running an advertisement in the March 27 edition of Politico thanking Members of Congress who have signed on as co-sponsors of the LRFA as of March 21.

The ad placement in Politico comes as five Members of the House of Representatives and four Senators have added their co-sponsorship to a resolution opposing “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” on local broadcast radio stations.

The Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA), which signals Members of Congress’s opposition to any potential legislation that imposes new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay, now has 152 cosponsors in the House and 17 in the Senate.

Adding their support recently for the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House are Reps. Sanford Bishop (D-GA-2), Jim Costa (D-CA-16), Josh Harder (D-CA-10), John Katko (R-NY-24) and Ralph Norman (R-SC-5). Sens. Tom Cotton (R-AR), John Hoeven (R-ND), Kyrsten Sinema(D-AZ) and Dan Sullivan (R-AK).

Reps. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and Michael Conaway (R-TX-11) are the principal cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House of Representatives (H. Con. Res. 20).

Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM) are the lead cosponsors of a companion resolution in the Senate (S. Con. Res. 5).