Nancy Pelosi rounds out Select Committee


The 12-member Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction is now fully identified. House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) named the final three members. None are frequent players in broadcast legislation, but one of them does happen to be the father of a sitting FCC commissioner.

The final three committee members to be named are Assistant Democratic Leader James E. Clyburn (D-SC), Democratic Caucus Vice Chair Xavier Becerra (D-CA) and Budget Committee Ranking Member Chris Van Hollen (D-MD).

James Clyburn is the father of FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn.

Two of the members of the Select Committee do have sway over communications matters on Capitol Hill. They are House Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) and Senate Communications Subcommittee Chairman John Kerry (D-MA).

The other senators on the committee include Patty Murray (D-WA), Max Baucus (D-MT), Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Rob Portman (R-OH) and Pat Toomey (R-PA).

The two remaining House members are Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) and Dave Camp (R-MI).