New members from TV, radio, agency sectors join CRE


CRE / Council for Research ExcellenceThe Council for Research Excellence (CRE) has approved the following as members: Joseph Abbruzo, Executive Vice President, Chief Exploration Officer, Havas Media; Kathleen Bohan, Senior Vice President, Local Research, Univision Communications Inc.; Buzz Knight, Vice President, Program Development, Greater Media; Tony Marinaro, Corporate Director of Research, LIN Media; Andy Rainey, Senior Vice President, Research, Radio Advertising Bureau; Stacey Schulman, Executive Vice President, Strategy, Analytics and Research, Katz Media Group; Howard Shimmel, Senior Vice President, Advertising Sales and Research, Turner Broadcasting; and Susie Thomas, Senior Vice President, Partner, Research, Universal McCann.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce our newest members and to welcome our first members from the audio community,” said Ceril Shagrin, executive vice president of Univision Communications Inc. and chair of the CRE.

The Council for Research Excellence (CRE) is an independent research group created (in 2005) and funded by Nielsen.  The CRE is dedicated to advancing the knowledge and practice of audience measurement methodology and comprises senior-level industry researchers representing advertisers, agencies, broadcast networks, cable, syndicators, local stations, and industry associations.

CRE members represent advertising agencies, media-buying firms, media companies, advertisers, digital publishers, social media companies and industry organizations including ABC, AMC Networks, CBS, Comcast, Cox, Discovery, ESPN, Gannett Co., Greater Media, GroupM, Havas Media, Horizon Media, Katz Media Group, Kimberly-Clark, LIN Media, Magna Global, the Media Rating Council, MoffettNathanson LLC, the National Association of Broadcasters, NBC Universal, Nielsen, Omnicom, Radio Advertising Bureau, Raycom Media, Scripps Networks Interactive, Starcom MediaVest, TargetCast tcm, Tribune Co., Turner Broadcasting, 21st Century Fox, Twitter, Universal McCann, Univision, Viacom and Warner Bros. Television.