Nexstar Head Selected For Avatar


The founder and President/CEO of Nexstar Media Group will be honored in late May with the Media Financial Management Association (MFM)‘s Avatar Award.

The MFM’s highest honor, the award will be presented to Perry Sook in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the communications industry and exemplary role in community service.

The award ceremony will take place following his delivery of a Keynote Address that will open Media Finance Focus 2017, the 57th annual conference for MFM and its BCCA subsidiary, the media industry’s credit association.

The event is set for May 22-24 at The Hyatt Grand Cypress in Orlando. Sook’s address is based on the theme “Magic of Media,” and is set for 8:30 a.m. on Monday, May 22.

“Long before the term avatar became synonymous with digital personae on a computer screen or a blockbuster movie, MFM selected it to typify recipients of the association’s most prestigious award, who represent the embodiment of a known model or category,” said Mary M. Collins, President/CEO of MFM and BCCA. “With influence that has spanned far beyond his leadership role at Nexstar, Perry Sook is truly an avatar for what it means to operate a media enterprise in the digital world. We look forward to honoring him for his many contributions to the broadcast TV business and to hearing his vision for the industry’s next chapter, which is already unfolding among the Nexstar properties.”

Sook founded Nexstar in 1996 with one local television station in Scranton, Penna., and began building the foundation of what is today one of the world’s leading local marketing and digital content companies. Nexstar Media Group is the No. 2 broadcast television operator in the U.S., with 170 stations in 100 markets and annual revenue in excess of $2.4 billion.

Sook was recently elected to serve as the Chairman of the Television Bureau of Advertising (TVB), the not-for-profit trade association of America’s local broadcast television industry. In addition to serving on the Board of TVB, he is a Board Member of the NAB, and the NBC Affiliate Board.

Previous recipients of MFM’s Avatar Award include former Lincoln Financial Media head Don Benson and Susquehanna Radio President/CEO David Kennedy.