Nominees for the National Radio Hall of Fame


National Radio Hall of Fame (NRHOF) Chairman Bruce DuMont has announced the 2010 list of nominees in four public voting categories. Nominees now move forward through the national online balloting process that opens on June 14th.

The 2010 nominees selected by a 23 member committee include:


Bob Brinker – the knowledgeable host of Money Talk on Citadel Media Network’s for over 20 years, Brinker shares investment advice and analysis with his audience and frequently is first to identify important economic trends. 

Carl Kasell – a 50 year plus broadcasting veteran, Kasell was news anchor on NPR’s Morning Edition for 30 years, and now appears weekly as official judge and scorekeeper for NPR’s Wait, Wait… Don’t Tell Me!

Bob Kingsley – known as the syndicated voice of Country music, Kingsley began countdown hosting in 1978 and starting in 1987, Billboard magazine named his show the top syndicated country program for 16 straight years.  Distributed by Jones Radio Network, it is now called Bob Kingsley’s Country Top 40.

Howard Stern – one of the most talked about and controversial radio hosts of all time, Stern began his career as a disc jockey in the Northeast but gained national prominence at WNBC/New York and then at WXRK-FM/New York.  Stern moved to Sirius Satellite Radio in 2006 after bitter battles with the FCC over content limits. 


Leslie Fram – known to many as the First Lady of Modern Rock, Fram is Program Director at 101.9 WRXP-FM/New York and co-hosts the morning drive show with Matt Pinfield. In 2000 and 2001, she was named Program Director of the Year by the Gavin Report and also by Radio & Records.

Terri Hemmert – a disc jockey known for her encyclopedic knowledge of music and especially of The Beatles, the civically-active Hemmert made Chicago radio history in 1981 when she became the first female morning drive personality on WXRT-FM.

Luther Masingill – serving as the morning personality on WDEF/Chattanooga, TN since 1941, Luther Masingill is a broadcasting institution in the Tennessee Valley.  Also an original member of WDEF-TV broadcasts, Masingill’s radio show is a mixture of music, comedy and local information and has entertained listeners for 65 years.

Ronn Owens – a versatile talk show host on KGO/San Francisco since 1975, Ronn Owens covers discussions ranging from local issues and international issues to politics and pop culture.  His highly rated show has been referred to as the “ultimate town meeting.” 


Gary Burbank – a Cincinnati radio legend at WLW-AM until late 2007, Burbank – who took his professional name by combining broadcasting icon Gary Owens with Burbank, CA – dominated Queen City radio for over four decades with wit, innovation, a loveable cast of characters and a love for his city.

Steve Dahl – famous for his biting song parodies, impressions and daily observations about his personal life, Dahl first hit the big time in Detroit before moving to Chicago in 1979, changing radio there forever. One of the industry’s first “Shock Jocks,” Dahl has spawned many imitators and continues to innovate.

Ralph Emery – a country music icon, Emery began his career as the late-night disc jockey on country music’s flagship WSM/Nashville.  The station reached much of the southern and central U.S. and the show became a launching pad for promising country artists. A move to television and two best-selling books moved him to icon status.

Charles Laquidara – Laquidara’s The Big Mattress was a pioneer effort in FM broadcasting, on WBCN/Boston for over 30 years. It was one of the first FM shows to feature a shifting on-air cast, including producers, writers and a production team. Known for his eclectic musical tastes, the outspoken Laquidara was never bashful about his criticism of corporate governance and right-wing politics.


Barry Farber – known for his Southern drawl, intensity, and conservative views, Farber began his on-air career at WINS/New York in 1960 and moved to WOR/New York in 1962.  After an unsuccessful run for mayor, it was afternoon drive time on WMCA/New York for ten years, before moving into national syndication with ABC.

Music and the Spoken Word – a program of inspiration and music, featuring The Mormon Tabernacle Choir, Music and the Spoken Word is the longest-running radio broadcast in America.  The Choir, which first started broadcasting on July 15, 1929, is made up of 360 volunteer members and is heard from coast-to-coast.

Tony Roberts – the voice of The Fighting Irish on Mutual and Westwood One starting in 1980, Roberts had already established his play-by-play credentials at Indiana University, Navy and the Washington Senators before bringing his unbridled enthusiasm to the Notre Dame booth at college football’s flagship university.

WLS National Barn Dance – the program debuted on April 19, 1924 during powerhouse WLS/Chicago’s first day on air and became an instant hit, preceding the Grand Ole Opry, and first introducing country music to the masses with a heavy dose of down-home comedy.  

The National Radio Hall of Fame online balloting will begin on June 14, 2010 and will end at midnight on August 1st.  Votenet, a highly respected online vote tabulating firm, will supervise the balloting.

Voting is free and open to the public; however a simple online registration will be required.  Please visit to learn more.

The NRHOF Steering Committee will meet on August 4th to ratify the voting results and will then select additional 2010 inductees, including worthy posthumous and non on-air individuals.

The National Radio Hall of Fame inductions will take place during a live national radio broadcast from Chicago on Saturday, November 6th.  Westwood One will produce and distribute the two-hour broadcast at 10 p.m. (ET).