Quaal Pioneer Award recipients named


It’ll seem like a trip back to the 1990s at the Broadcasters Foundation of America breakfast April 13th in Las Vegas with Bob Sillerman on hand to receive one of the 2011 Ward L. Quaal Pioneer Awards. Who else is being honored?

Six people in all will be honored for their contributions to the broadcast industry. If you’ve read RBR-TVBR for any length of time, you will recognize each name.

John Dille, President, Federated Media;
Andrew Fisher, President, Cox Television, Retired;
Richard Ferguson, Founder, New City Communications and Executive Vice President, Cox Radio, Retired;
Erwin Krasnow, Esq., Partner, Garvey Schubert Barer;
Robert F.X. Sillerman, the largest shareholder of CKX, Inc. (owner and producer of American Idol and So You Think You Can Dance), who just launched his newest venture, Function (X);
Dennis Swanson, President, Station Operations, Fox Television Stations, Inc.

The Pioneer Awards are given annually in recognition of career contributions to the broadcast industry and the community at large, and are named in honor of iconic broadcaster Ward L. Quaal.

The Ward L. Quaal Pioneer Awards are underwritten by the Hubbard Broadcasting Foundation and the McCormick Foundation.  The breakfast, April 13th at the Wynn Hotel, which is complimentary to all, is sponsored by the National Association of Media Brokers (NAMB), Frank N. Magid Associates, the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), and Arbitron. 

RBR-TVBR observation: Hey, we know all of these guys and they’re all deserving. Apparently the foundation ran out of space before listing Sillerman’s earlier ventures in radio: SFX, Legacy and the first with Cousin Brucie Morrow, who was a previous Quaal honoree. This should be a fun event!