Reality shows get their own awards


Reality Rocks Expo says that over 400 programs pursued one type of reality TV format or another between September 2009 and September 2010, and adds that it’s time for fans to vote for their favorites. First round voting is open now, with a second round coming in the early part of 2011, leading to presentation at the Reality Rocks Expo at the Los Angeles Convention Center 4/9-10/11.

Voting is open at Fans will winnow the field down to 75 by 11/30/10. They will then be sorted into categories, like best food show etc., and then put up for a second round of voting held from January through March, and eventually yielding the winners.

The websites also invites fan participation, offering them a chance to create their own, personally branded fan page; vote for their favorite shows; converse with other reality television fans, show celebs, hosts and judges; and upload videos and photos. Fans will themselves be eligible for awards.

According to Reality Rocks, a wide cross-section of companies involved in the reality TV business are on board as honorary advisory committee members, including Cris Abrego, Co-Founder and Executive Producer of 51 Minds; Orly Adelson, President of Dick Clark Productions; Thom Beers, CEO and Executive Producer of Original Productions; Pierre Brogan, Agent, Television and Alternative for Creative Artists Agency; Jason Burinescu, Vice President of Development for Intuitive Entertainment; Nick Cannon, Host of America’s Got Talent; Shaleen Desai, Head of Alternative Programming for BBC Worldwide; Damla Dogan, Vice President Original Programming and Series Development for E! Entertainment Television; Tanya Hekimian, VP, Development for September Films USA; Corie Henson, Vice President Alternative Series and Specials for ABC Entertainment; Eli Holzman, President of Studio Lambert; Mark Koops, Managing Director at Reveille; Matt Kunitz, Creator, Executive Producer Wipeout for Endemol USA; David McKillop, SVP of Development and Programming at the History Channel; Theresa Patiri, Vice President Production Management and Operations for WE tv Networks; SallyAnn Salsano, Founder and President of 495 Productions; Jill Schwartz, SVP, Programming Development for Fox Television Studios; and Troy Searer, Founding Partner and CEO of Tijuana Entertainment.