Resolution impacted by balancing act


When Byron Dorgan (D-ND) announced he was reviving his Resolution of Disapproval tactic to block execution of the FCC’s new acceptance of broadcast/print cross-owned groups in the top 20 Nielsen DMAs, he noted 13 co-sponsors. It should be noted that this baker’s dozen has been increased by one, and it’s a big one. Commerce Committee Ranking Member Ted Stevens (R-AK) is also on board as an original co-sponsor.

RBR/TVBR observation: The other two Republicans on the list — Olympia Snowe (R-ME) and Susan Collins (R-ME) — are generally seen as part of the dwindling moderate wing of the party. Stevens, much more a stand-up conservative, adds a considerable amount of balance to the list, particularly in light of the recent departure of Trent Lott (R-MS) from Dorgan’s posse.