RTDNF’s Great Eight Honors Muir, Others at D.C. Awards Dinner


The Radio Television Digital News Foundation on Thursday night honored journalism professionals dedicated to defending the First Amendment and the public’s right to know at the 30th Annual First Amendment Awards in Washington, D.C.

The seven honorees are: 

  • David Muir of ABC News
  • “60 Minutes” — produced by CBS News by Bill Owens
  • Bob Horner of NBC News
  • Barbara Maushard , VP/News, Hearst Television
  • Lori Montenegro of Telemundo
  • Sen. Richard Blumenthal 
  • Steve Andrews of WFLA-8 in Tampa

It is considered the most prestigious award in American journalism.

For Andrews, an “8 On Your Side” investigative reporter at the Nexstar-owned NBC affiliate, the RTDNF recognizes Steve’s more than 40 years of work as a broadcast journalist, many of them as an investigator at News Channel 8 in Tampa.

“This job has put me in a position of being able to tell good stories, that help people,” says Andrews. “If I can find a story where, David vs Goliath and David’s not winning, then maybe we can do something for them.”

For Montenegro, the award recognizes her lengthy tenure in Washington, which saw the February 2019 promotion to D.C. Bureau Chief. She’s been a fixture on Capitol Hill since 1993, and first worked with Univision.