RTNDA announces regional Murrow Awards


The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTNDA) announced the 2010 regional winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in electronic journalism.

RTDNA judges awarded 603 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website. The Murrow Awards reward the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.  

WTOP-FM, a large market radio station in Washington, won 12 Murrow awards, the most given to any news organization. In the large market television category KARE-TV in Minneapolis led the way with nine Murrows. KCLU-AM/FM in Thousand Oaks, CA and KNAU-FM in Flagstaff, AZ received seven Murrows each, the most Murrows awarded to a small market radio station. WISC-TV in Madison, WI won eight Murrows, the largest number of awards given to a small market television station. Star Tribune in Minneapolis, an online news operation, won four Edward R. Murrow Awards. For the first time, online news organizations were eligible to enter in any of the 14 categories.

Click here for the full list of winners and links to the winning audio/video entries.