Meet Saga’s Board Of Directors For The Next Year


Who are the seven individuals who will comprise the board of directors of Saga Communications for the next 12 months.

With voting on Monday at the radio broadcasting company’s annual stockholders meeting, seven men secured their seats at the board room table.

The top vote-getter?

That would be Timothy J. Clarke, an independent director who served as the owner and President of Clarke Advertising & Public Relations from 1987 to 2005, at which time it became the Clarke Company. Clarke currently serves on the board of directors of Tervis Tumbler Company and as a member of the board of directors of Insignia Bank.

Clarke received 13,323,699 “for” votes.

To little surprise, other big vote-getters were CEO Ed Christian and retired COO Warren Lada.

The fourth-biggest vote-getter? Clarke R. Brown Jr., an Independent Director of Saga Communications since July 1, 2004.

Now retired, Brown is widely revered for his role as President of Jefferson-Pilot Communications from 1991 to June 2005.

Filling out the Saga Board for the next year are media broker Gary G. Stevens, who served as CEO of Doubleday Broadcasting from 1977 through 1985; and two individuals elected by holders of Class A common stock: G. Dean Pearce, a Saga director since 2017; and Roy F. Coppedge III, who has been a Senior Advisor of BV Investment Partners (formerly Boston Ventures Management) since 2012.