SBE elects Hogan to second term as president


Results are in for the 2012-13 SBE National Board of Directors after the society’s first online election. Ralph Hogan, CPBE, DRB, CBNE remains as president for a second term.

“I am looking forward to continuing the excellent progress the Society has made in the past year and begin exploring the recommendations of the strategic planning committee with the board of directors at our October National Meeting,” said Hogan.

Officers are elected to serve one-year terms on the Society of Broadcast Engineers Board of Directors. Returning to the board as officers are Hogan, director of engineering for KJZZ-FM/KBAQ-FM, Tempe, AZ as president; Joe Snelson, CPBE, 8-VSB, VP/engineering at Meredith Corporation in Las Vegas, as vice president; James Leifer, CPBE, director of engineering & IT at Clear Channel South Florida in Miami as secretary; and Jerry Massey, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNT, corporate regional engineer and DoE at Entercom Communications in Greenville, SC as treasurer.

The election of six directors, for two-year terms, includes the return of Tim Anderson, CPBE, DRB, CBNT, manager, strategic radio market and product development, Harris Corporation Broadcast Communications Division in Mason, Ohio; Gary Kline, CBT, CBNT, senior vice president of engineering, Cumulus Media in Atlanta, Ga.; and Scott Mason, CPBE, CBNT, west coast director of engineering, CBS Radio in Los Angeles, Calif.

New to the board as directors are Andrea Cummis, CBT, CTO, senior director of engineering

and operations, WNET in New York; John Heimerl, CPBE, vice president of strategic technologies, WHRO-TV, WHRO-FM, WHRV-FM in Norfolk; and Wayne M. Pecena, CPBE, 8-VSB AMD, DRB, CBNE, director of engineering, Texas A&M University-Educational Broadcast Services in College Station, TX.

2012 was the first year the society offered online voting, which saw a 64% increase in ballots cast from the previous year. The total number of ballots cast was 1,313, which was 511 more ballots than in 2011.