Scott Herman to receive Ellis Island Medal of Honor


The CBS Radio EVP/Operations has been named one of the recipients of the 25th Anniversary Ellis Island Medals of Honor. The medal, established by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO), recognizes a group of distinguished American citizens and role models from different disciplines and backgrounds who are dedicated to community service, making positive contributions to society, and helping create a better world. 

The Ellis Island Medal of Honor boasts a list of famous and influential awardees throughout its 25 years including six Presidents of the United States, Nobel Prize winners, athletes, leaders of industry and artists, and is considered one of the country’s most prestigious awards.  Recipients of this honor are listed in the Congressional Record.

Herman, along with the other 2011 awardees, will be recognized at a Gala Dinner and ceremony in their honor on 5/7 on Ellis Island.  Send him an email at [email protected]

Notable Medalists include:

Michael Bolton
Stewart F. Lane
Jerry Lewis 
Muhammad Ali
Donald E. Washkewicz
Tony Blair (first non American to receive award)
George H.W. Bush
Bill Clinton
Hillary Rodham Clinton
Peter A. Koo (first Chinese American Republican elected to New York City Council)
Rita Cosby
Joe DiMaggio
Mike Zafirovski
Michael Finnegan
Renée Fleming
Gerald Ford
Valentin Fuster
Bob Hope
Henry Kissinger
Admiral Robert J. Natter, USN (Ret.)
Michael Novak
Lou Papan
Martin Scorsese
Rosanna Scotto
Frank Sinatra
Donald Trump